Personal Injury Lawyers Pittsburgh - SMA Law Group
Stewart, Murray and Associates Law Group (SMA Law Group) are experienced, aggressive and compassionate Personal Injury Attorneys and Criminal Lawyers serving Western Pennsylvania and the surrounding region. We represent clients injured in accidents as well as clients facing criminal charges and DUI charges in Pennsylvania.
SMA Law Group Logo 1-888-976-2529
437 Grant St.#600 Pittsburgh PA 15219
412-765-3345 1-888-9-SMALAW
WE ARE AVAILABLE 24/7 - CALL NOW!

Pittsburgh Weapons Charges Attorney

In the aftermath of a series of mass shootings in the United States in recent years, we hear strong anti-gun sentiment from Americans who have never been around weapons, let alone fired one themselves.

Unfortunately, many of these staunch opponents of guns do not understand one simple thing: just because you own a gun does not necessarily mean that you will use it for any purpose other than self-defense and protection of your family and property.

Why you need a Pittsburgh weapons charges attorney

Weapons charges in Pennsylvania carry lengthy prison sentences and hefty fines. That is why anyone facing gun charges should seek legal help from a Pittsburgh weapons charges attorney to protect their gun ownership rights and freedom.

Our criminal defense lawyers at SMA Law Group will identify the best legal defense for your particular weapons-related charge after investigating your case. For example, in some cases, lawyers representing gun owners are able to prove that police officers or law enforcement officials violated their rights during unlawful searchers or seizures of a gun in the defendant’s possession.

Pittsburgh Weapons Charges Attorney
FREE CASE EVALUATION
We don’t get paid unless you get paid.
call : 412-765-3345
Get a Free Case
Evaluation
* Fields are required
Accept Disclaimer and Privacy Terms.
Do not pay for someone else’s mistake
For a free case evaluation
call : 412-765-3345

Types of weapons charges and severity of penalties

The severity of penalties and sentences depends on many factors, but the wording of the charge you have been arrested and prosecuted for plays the most vital role. Let’s review the most common gun charges in Pennsylvania and outline penalties for each of them:

  • Illegal possession of a gun or firearm. In Pennsylvania, those who have been convicted of a felony are prohibited from carrying a firearm. In fact, Pennsylvania law requires you to transfer or sell your firearm within 60 days of being convicted of an offense. A Possession of a Prohibited Firearm conviction will be charged as a felony. “Also, do keep in mind that you may be prohibited from carrying a firearm if you are under a Protection From Abuse (PFA) order,” warns our experienced weapons charges attorney in Pittsburgh. “A violation of PFA is charged as a first-degree misdemeanor.”
  • Repairing, selling, using, or possessing an illegal offensive gun or firearm. Unless you are a law enforcement officer or carry a license permitting you to carry one, Pennsylvania law prohibits repairing, selling, using, and possessing an illegal offensive weapon or firearm, including but not limited to bombs, grenades, machines guns, daggers, knives, razors, metal knuckles, sawed-off shotguns with a barrel less than 18 inches, Tasers or other electric stun guns that can inflict serious bodily injury, and many others. This one is charged as a first-degree misdemeanor, which carries a $10,000 fine and up to five years in prison.
  • Intention to use a weapon during criminal activity. In Pennsylvania, you are facing a first-degree misdemeanor charge for intention to use a weapon during a criminal activity (robbery, assault, etc.), even if the weapon is not loaded or you did not use the weapon in the course of the criminal activity.
  • Carrying a weapon without a valid license. Although Pennsylvania law permits gun owners to keep their weapon inside their home or place of business, it is prohibited by law to carry a firearm inside your vehicle, attached to a leg holster, in a purse or any other concealed place unless you have a valid license. This one is charged as a third-degree felony, which is punishable by a $15,000 fine and up to seven years in prison. Your Pittsburgh weapons charges lawyer can reduce your penalty to a first-degree misdemeanor if you would have been eligible to obtain a license (but did not do so for some reason) and have no prior criminal record.
  • Illegal sale of weapons. While you may have a license to sell firearms in Pennsylvania, there are many laws and rules you will have to comply with to avoid being prosecuted for illegal sale of firearms. For example, you cannot sell a weapon to a person unless you waited 48 hours (failure to comply will be charged as a second-degree misdemeanor). If you sell a firearm to a person under the age of 18, you will be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor.
  • Carrying a weapon on school property. In Pennsylvania, it is prohibited by law to carry a firearm on or anywhere near school property, including public and private elementary schools and secondary schools. Violation of this law will be charged as a first-degree misdemeanor (up to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine).
GET A FREE LEGAL CASE EVALUATION
Tell Us Your Stories and Ask Us Your Questions

Now that we have reviewed the types of weapons charges in Pennsylvania and the legal consequences for them, let’s work on your defense strategy to reduce the severity of your penalties or get the prosecutor to dismiss or drop the charges altogether. Schedule a free consultation with our lawyers from SMA Law Group by calling at 412-765-3345.

shape icon
Our awards
About
Service
chat
contact