Washington County DUI Attorney | DUI Defense Lawyer

Washington County DUI Charges Attorney

It is something that we know could happen but never think about until the blue lights are behind us. A DUI charge can completely change everything. It can result in jail time and monetary fines as well as other major life changes – loss of driving privileges and even the loss of a job.

At SMT Legal, we want to help you through this. If you have been arrested for DUI, call us today so we can get to work on building your defense. Our goal is to have the charges against you reduced or dismissed. When you need a DUI lawyer, call us today.

What Can Happen?

The blood alcohol level (BAC) legal limit for most drivers in Pennsylvania is .08. At that level or over, a person is considered impaired and can be arrested and charged with DUI. Commercial drivers have a limit of .04 and school bus drivers and those under 21 have a limit of .02.

The charges a person faces largely depend on their BAC level at the time of the arrest, whether or not there was a crash, and whether there were injuries.

There are three levels of DUI in Pennsylvania: General Impairment, High BAC, and Highest BAC.

  • General Impairment (.08 to .099)
    • Misdemeanor
    • Up to 6 months probation
    • $300 fine
    • Alcohol safety school
    • Possible ordered treatment

*If a person with general DUI has prior DUI convictions, they could face stiffer penalties including license suspension, more jail time, higher fines, and one year of an ignition interlock device.

  • High BAC (.10 to .159)
    • 12-month license suspension
    • 48 hours to 6 months in jail
    • $500 to $5,000 fine
    • Alcohol safety school
    • Possible ordered treatment

*If a person with High BAC has prior DUI convictions (regardless of the level), they could face stiffer penalties.

  • Highest BAC (.16 and higher& includes controlled substances)
    • 12-month license suspension
    • 72 hours to 6 months in jail
    • $1,000 to $5,000 fine
    • Alcohol safety school
    • Possible ordered treatment

*If a person with Highest BAC has prior DUI convictions, they could face stiffer penalties.

If you have been charged with a DUI that causes bodily injury, vehicle damage, or property damage, you could be facing the following penalties:

DUI Charges And Minors

Anyone under the age of 21 who is DUI could face an automatic six-month license suspension in addition to many of the penalties listed above. If a driver is under the age of 18, they will face charges under Pennsylvania’s Juvenile Act.

Get a Free Case

    * Fields are required

    Accept Disclaimer and Privacy Terms.

    Every case has a different dimension let's work together!
    For a free case evaluation
    call : 412-765-3345
    Tell Us Your Stories and Ask Us Your Questions

    What We Can Do Now

    While you may think there is nothing you can do about a DUI charge, you are wrong. In fact, doing nothing is the wrong path to take. At SMT Legal, our knowledgeable and experienced team will work to build a defense around you with the goal of having the charges reduced or dismissed. We realize that your livelihood depends on driving legally and we want to ensure you get back on track. When you need a Washington County DUI charges attorney, you can contact us for a free consultation by clicking here or calling 1-888-976-2529.

    shape icon
    Our awards