When you are charged with a crime, we know there are many things that go through your mind. You probably think about your family and your job. If you are facing an assault charge, the penalties can be severe. Even minor assault charges can lead to jail time and fines. You need to secure an assault charges defense attorney to be by your side.
At the SMA Law Group, we will get to work defending you as soon as we take your case. We know the importance of completing our own investigation into the incident so we can work towards setting the record clear on your behalf.
What Does An Assault Charge Mean?
It can be confusing when you start looking into what an assault charge in Pennsylvania means. That is because there is not a single “assault charge” or a single set of penalties.
We are going to briefly review what these charges mean as well as discuss the penalties of a guilty verdict.
Pennsylvania categorizes assault charges in one of two ways – simple assault and aggravated assault. Which charges are applied depend on certain elements being met.
Please understand that simple assault is serious, despite the name. This charge involved a person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly inflicting bodily injury on another person or attempting to do so. It also includes threats or attempts to intimidate a person with serious bodily harm. Penalties for this type of assault vary:
- Class 1 Misdemeanor for simple assault against a minor and up to 5 years in prison.
- Class 2 Misdemeanor for general simple assault and up to 2 years in prison.
- Class 3 Misdemeanor for simple assault with mutual consent (fighting) and up to one year in prison.
Aggravated assault is a more serious charge and happens when a person is accused of showing extreme indifference to human life or is accused of assaulting a public safety official or teacher while they are performing their duties. Penalties for these crimes include:
- Class 1 Felony for aggravated assault with extreme indifference or against a public official and up to 20 years in prison.
- Class 2 Felony for general aggravated assault with a deadly weapon and up to 10 years in prison.
Aside from the criminal penalties listed above, please know that an assault charge will be a permanent mark on your criminal record.
How We Can Help You Now
If you have been charged with assault in Indiana County, please seek legal assistance as soon as possible. Pennsylvania has harsh penalties for all levels of assault crimes and you can see your criminal record permanently damaged.