Allegheny County Driving Under License Suspension Attorney | SMT Legal

Allegheny County Driving Under License Suspension Attorney

Many take for granted just how much freedom a driving license provides. Driving to work, picking up dinner, or retrieving children from school are so engrained in day to day life that they seem more of a right than a privilege. That all changes when your license is suspended. Suddenly, something as simple as driving to your local grocery store for some milk becomes a difficult task and you must rely on somebody else for your transportation. For some, the necessity to drive takes precedence over a license suspension.

If you are caught driving under a suspended license, your penalties will increase and your freedoms will become further limited. Penalties increase if your license was originally suspended for DUI. With so much at risk, you should not trust your future with anyone but an experienced driving under license suspension lawyer. Attorneys at SMT Legal have the experience and confidence necessary to examine evidence and formulate the best way to move forward.

What to Expect After Driving Under License Suspension

The penalties for driving under a license suspension vary—mostly depending on the cause for suspension. If your license was suspended after accumulating 11 or more points on your license, you will likely receive a summary offense. In Pennsylvania, a summary offense is the lowest form of criminal offense and it may be referred to as a non-traffic citation.

If you receive a summary offense for driving under license suspension, you can expect your license to be suspended for another 12 months. Additionally, you may receive a fine of $200 and your offense will be recorded on your criminal record indefinitely.

Driving under a suspended license with a DUI can result in significantly higher penalties. If you are found driving under a suspended license stemming from a DUI, you could potentially receive two to three months of imprisonment.

If you are found with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .02 or higher, your penalties increase even more. Your first offense can be considered a summary offense, but come with a minimum of three months of imprisonment and a $1,000 fine. A second offense can result in a third-degree misdemeanor, a $2,500 fine, and six months to a year in prison. A third offense will increase to a first-degree misdemeanor, with a $5,000 fine and two to five years of imprisonment.

Get a Free Case

    * Fields are required

    Accept Disclaimer and Privacy Terms.

    Every case has a different dimension let's work together!
    For a free case evaluation
    call : 412-765-3345
    Tell Us Your Stories and Ask Us Your Questions

    After being caught driving under license suspension, you are at risk for losing your freedoms further. It is a serious matter that you should not attempt to handle on your own. You should contact an Allegheny County driving under license suspension attorney. An experienced attorney will be able to use their knowledge of Pennsylvania law and courtroom proceedings to negotiate your terms. Attorneys at SMT Legal have years of experience and the confidence to defend your case with a blend of aggression and compassion. For a free consultation, contact SMT Legal at this link or call 412-765-3345.

    shape icon
    Our awards